Along with the transformation of the Manor House, the golf course has been redesigned by world renowned golf architect Tom Fazio. The course sits in harmony with the outstanding natural beauty of the landscape, mature trees, and sweeping banks of the river Maigue.
Our brief was to design a clubhouse to complement the unique standards of the golf course. It was decided that the carriage house / stable building constructed in 1863 would form part of the clubhouse accommodation, so the carriage house has been retained, renovated and reused to accommodate the changing rooms and pro shop on the ground floor, with the golf administration accommodated on the first floor. The external envelope and its unique architectural features been totally retained. The external fabric renovation included the re-covering of the roof in natural slate, new timber windows and repointing/cleaning of limestone facade.
The newly constructed section of the clubhouse accommodates the social areas, bar, restaurant, kitchen and orangery. This is constructed also in limestone but is clearly identifiable as a later addition. The introduction of a coloured covered way links the existing with the new, and forms a successful unification of the building structure.
The carriage house bar is a mix of traditional and contemporary styling with rich leathers, stained oaks and smart brass and bronze details. The lounge is a softly lit space inviting guests to sit, read or converse. The enclosed terrace, a magnificent, glazed space with rich timber ceiling The 80-cover restaurant, with its central roof light, is a decadent space with nods to art deco chic. The fully glazed façade allows expansive views of the putting green and walled gardens beyond.
The traditional materials of limestone timber and natural slate are carefully and appropriately used resulting in a building consistent with the ambience of the Manor Estate.